PEMBROKE CCC **INDOOR LEAGUE** PLAYING REGULATIONS

sponsored by The Pembrokeshire Groundsmen Association

The Laws of Cricket shall apply together with the experimental rules and conditions laid down by the National Cricket Association for the preceding cricket season, with the exception of the following regulations:

1. Number of Players

Teams shall consist of six players each.

2. Number of Innings

Each match shall consist of one innings per team.

3. Match length

Each innings shall consist of a maximum of 10 overs.

4. Bowling restrictions

No bowler shall bowl more than two overs. (In the case of a bowler becoming incapacitated, the over shall be completed by a bowler who has not bowled 2 overs even if he bowled the preceding over.)

5. Last man stands

Two batters shall be at the wicket at all times during an innings. In the event of a team losing five wickets within the permitted 10 overs, the last man shall continue batting with the fifth man out remaining at the wicket as a runner.

6. Retirement

When a batter reaches a personal total of 25 he shall retire, but may return to the crease at the fall of the fifth wicket. Retired batsmen must return in order of their retirement and take the place of the retiring or dismissed batters. Two "live" batsmen shall be at the wicket until such time as the fifth wicket has fallen. The batsmen shall retire when he scores an additional 25 runs on his return to the crease.

7. No balls

If in the opinion of the umpire, negative or short-pitched bowling becomes persistent he shall call and signal "No Ball".

8. Wides

The laws relating to "Wides" shall be strictly interpreted by the umpire.

9. Player eligibility

Only genuine bona-fide members of a club, who played league cricket for that club in the previous season in the Pembroke County Cricket League will be allowed to represent that club in the Indoor League.

10. Two or more clubs tying for first place

In the event of two or more clubs tying for first place at the end of the competition, the winner will be determined by the club that has the highest average by dividing the total number of runs scored by the total number of wickets lost.

Scoring System

The scoring for Indoor Cricket shall take place as follows:

- 1. A ball struck to hit the boundary wall behind the bowler without touching the floor or any other wall shall count as 6 runs. If, however, the ball touches the floor but does not touch any of the other walls and hits the boundary wall, then it shall count as 4 runs.
- 2. A ball struck to hit one or more of the side or back walls shall count 1 run, even if the ball subsequently hits the boundary wall. Two additional runs shall be scored if the batter complete a run (if the ball is struck to hit the side or back wall and the batter is run out, 1 run shall be scored).
- 3. Two runs shall be scored if the striker plays the ball and does not hit a wall direct and the batters complete a run.
- 4. A Bye shall count as 1 run if the ball hits a wall; a leg-bye shall count as 1 run if the ball hits a wall. In each case if the batters complete a run, 2 additional runs shall be scored.
- 5. Two byes or two leg-byes shall be scored if the batters complete a run without the ball hitting a wall.
- 6. No Ball

If a no ball is called a penalty of one run shall be credited under extras.

7. Wide

If a wide ball is called a penalty of one run shall be credited under extras.

- 8. An overthrow hitting any wall shall count as 1 run to the batter. (The batter shall not change ends).
- 9. No runs shall be scored if a batter is out caught off the walls. No player may play for more than one team in the Indoor League in the same year.
- 10. If the ball becomes lodged in netting or any obstacle, then the umpire shall call and signal "dead ball" and award 1 run. The batter shall return to their original ends.

Methods of Dismissal

Apart from the normal methods of dismissal contained in the Laws of Cricket, the following variations shall apply:

(a) The batter shall be caught out by a fieldsman after the ball has hit the netting or any wall except directly from the boundary wall, provided the ball has not touched the floor.

(b) The last not-out batter shall be given out if the striker running with him is run out.

(c) The batter or the non-striker shall be given not out if the ball rebounds from a wall and hits a wicket without being touched by a fieldsman.

N.B. All players must wear the normal accepted cricket clothing and equipment. This includes wicket-keepers wearing pads.

